It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

Submit Back

Edit Profile

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.

Update Profile

2011 Polaris Music Prize Long List announced

June 16th, 2011

The wait is over. Today the 40 names for this year’s Polaris Music Prize long list were announced at a press conference held at the Drake Hotel in Toronto.

Among the names vying for the newly increased $30,000 cheque and title of Best Canadian Album of the Year include repeat nominees Arcade Fire, Black Mountain, D-Sisive, The Dears, Malajube, Miracle Fortress and Stars, among others. Notable debuts that also made the list include albums by Dirty Beaches, PS I Love You, Diamond Rings, Braids, Austra, and the much-hyped The Weeknd. A name surprisingly absent, depending on who you ask, is Drake, whose Thank Me Later failed to make the cut.

Here is the full list:

Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
Austra – Feel It Break
Black Mountain – Wilderness Heart
Braids – Native Speaker
Buck 65 – 20 Odd Years
Louise Burns – Mellow Drama
D-Sisive – Jonestown 2: Jimmy Go Bye Bye
The Dears – Degeneration Street
Destroyer – Kaputt
Diamond Rings – Special Affections
Dirty Beaches – Badlands
Luke Doucet and The White Falcon – Steel City Trawler
Eternia & MoSS – At Last
Galaxie – Tigre et Diesel
Jenn Grant – Honeymoon Punch
Tim Hecker – Ravedeath, 1972
Hey Rosetta! – Seeds
Hooded Fang – Album
Imaginary Cities – Temporary Resident
Land Of Talk – Cloak and Cipher
Little Scream – The Golden Record
The Luyas – Too Beautiful To Work
Malajube – La Caverne
Miracle Fortress – Was I The Wave?
One Hundred Dollars – Songs Of Man
Doug Paisley – Constant Companion
PS I Love You – Meet Me At The Muster Station
Daniel Romano – Sleep Beneath the Willow
The Rural Alberta Advantage – Departing
Ron Sexsmith – Long Player Late Bloomer
Shotgun Jimmie – Transistor Sister
Sloan – The Double Cross
Frederick Squire – March 12
Stars – The Five Ghosts
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges
Timber Timbre – Creep On Creepin’ On
The Weeknd – House Of Balloons
Women – Public Strain
Neil Young – Le Noise
Young Galaxy – Shapeshifting

The Polaris Jury will now vote to reduce the Long List to the 10 title Short List which will be revealed July 6.

The 2011 winner will be revealed at CTV’s Concert Hall studios at Toronto’s Masonic Temple on Monday, September 19th at the Polaris Music Prize gala. The event is broadcast live on Sirius channel 152 and CBC Radio 3 and will also be broadcast on MuchMusic and

Past winners have been Final Fantasy, Patrick Watson, Caribou, Fucked Up, and Karkwa.


Related Articles:

You Might Also Like These