It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

Submit Back

Edit Profile

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.

Update Profile

Beastie Boys mix up Hot Sauces, finish album

October 25th, 2010

We were expecting a new album from Beastie Boys in September of last year, but after Adam Yauch (MCA) was diagnosed with a “very treatable” cancerous tumor the group had to postpone the album until a further date.

Well, it’s taken nearly two years, but now comes word that Hot Sauce Committee will finally see a light of day next spring. The other day, the Beasties revealed that we wouldn’t be getting Hot Sauce Committee Part 1, as they had originally planned though. The idea was to release Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 instead because it was now finished, whereas Part 1 still needed some tinkering.

In a new message, however, the plans have been changed once more. Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 will indeed be the album title, but it will now feature the songs originally planned for Hot Sauce Committee Part 1. Confused? Yeah, you’re supposed to be.

Says Yauch, “I know it’s weird and confusing, but at least we can say unequivocally that Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 is coming out on time, which is more than I can say about Part 1, and really is all that matters in the end. We just kept working and working on various sequences for part 2, and after a year and half of spending days on end in the sequencing room trying out every possible combination, it finally became clear that this was the only way to make it work. Strange but true, the final sequence for Hot Sauce Committee Part 2 works best with all its songs replaced by the 16 tracks we originally had lined up in pretty much the same order we had them in for Hot Sauce Committee Part 1. So we’ve come full circle.”

Umm, okay. Yauch didn’t actually confirm if Hot Sauce Committee Part 1 will ever see a release, I guess with Hot Sauce Committee Part 2‘s songs. Wow, confusing.

Here is Hot Sauce Committee Part 2‘s tracklisting:

1. Tadlock’s Glasses
2. B-Boys In The Cut
3. Make Some Noise
4. Nonstop Disco Powerpack
5. OK
6. Too Many Rappers (featuring NAS)
7. Say It
8. The Bill Harper Collection
9. Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (featuring Santigold)
10. Long Burn The Fire
11. Funky Donkey
12. Lee Majors Come Again
13. Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament
14. Pop Your Balloon
15. Crazy Ass Shit
16. Here’s A Little Something For Ya

Related Articles:

You Might Also Like These