It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

Submit Back

Edit Profile

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.

Update Profile

Drake, Feist, Braids, Destroyer, Fucked Up, D-Sisive nominated for Junos

February 7th, 2012

This morning nominations for the 2012 Juno Awards were announced. As expected, the Biebers, Hedleys and Bubles all received multiple nominations, but there were also lesser known artists that made the cut in specialty categories (i.e. the ones we often play on RapCity and The Wedge).

Drake is an exception, of course, and nabbed himself five noms, including Juno Fan Choice, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Rap Recording of the Year and the Jack Richardson Producer of the Year, which technically for his producer Noah “40” Shebib for the songs “Marvin’s Room” and “Take Care.”

Also up for Rap Recording of the Year are Classified, D-Sisive, Kardinal Offishall and Swollen Members.

On the “alternative” and “indie” side of things, Arcade Fire got a lone nomination this year with Juno Fan Choice, after dominating in 2011. Feist is up for Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, Adult Alternative Album of the Year, Recording Package of the Year and Music DVD of the Year.

Montreal’s Colin Stetson and Braids both have two nods: Stetson’s are for Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year and Instrumental Album of the Year, while Braids are up for New Group of the Year and Alternative Album of the Year. Hey Rosetta! and The Rural Alberta Advantage are also nominated for New Group of the Year, with the latter also receiving one for Video of the Year with director Jose Lourenco. Dan Mangan, Destroyer, Timber Timbre (also up for Recording Package of the Year) and our very own Damian Abraham and his band Fucked Up will all challenge Braids for Alternative Album of the Year.

Other notable nominations include Sloan for Rock Album of the Year, Coeur de Pirate and Malajube for Francophone Album of the Year, and for Electronic Album of the Year, Arthur Oskan, Austra, Azari & III, Junior Boys and Tim Hecker will battle it out.

You can see the full list of nominations at the official 2012 Juno Awards site.

Tags: , ,

Related Articles:

You Might Also Like These